Marcus Cox Headlines App. State Football's Six All-SoCon Selections

2:26 PM, Nov 26, 2013   |    comments
  • Share
  • Print
  • - A A A +

Written By App. State Sports Information Dept.

SPARTANBURG, S.C. - Highlighted by Freshman of the Year Marcus Cox (Dacula, Ga./Dacula) and consensus first-team honorees Tony Washington (High Point, N.C./T.W. Andrews) and punter Bentlee Critcher (South Daytona, Fla./Warner Christian Academy), six Appalachian State University football players received all-Southern Conference recognition on Tuesday.

Cox, who set Appalachian State freshman records with 1,250 rushing yards, 1,809 yards from scrimmage and 21 total touchdowns and tied the school's freshman record with 15 rushing touchdowns, was named the SoCon Freshman of the Year by the league's coaches and media.

He was also named first-team all-conference by the league's media but, despite being the conference's leading rusher by 200 yards and posting the third-highest rushing total by a freshman in league history, was only deemed worthy of second-team recognition by the SoCon's coaches.

Washington, who led the SoCon with 939 receiving yards, and Critcher, who posted the highest punting average ever by a SoCon freshman and fourth-highest average in league history overall at 45.9 yards per punt, both received first-team accolades from the coaches and media.

Rounding out the Mountaineers' six honorees, offensive lineman Kendall Lamm (Charlotte, N.C./Butler) was named first-team all-SoCon by the league's coaches and second-team by the media, wide receiver Andrew Peacock (Durham, N.C./Northern Durham) was a consensus second-team selection and linebacker Karl Anderson (Pilot Point, Texas/Pilot Point) received second-team recognition from the media.

Additionally, a league-high-tying five Mountaineers were named to the SoCon's all-freshman team - Cox, Critcher, linebackers Kennan Gilchrist (Abbeville, S.C./Abbeville) and John Law (Atlanta, Ga./Grady) and defensive back Alex Gray (Suwanee, Ga./Peachtree Ridge).

Fr. RB Marcus Cox
Freshman of the Year (coaches and media)
First-team all-conference (media)
Second-team all-conference (coaches)

Fr. P Bentlee Critcher
First-team all-conference (coaches and media)

Sr. WR Tony Washington
First-team all-conference (coaches and media)

Jr. OL Kendall Lamm
First-team all-conference (coaches)
Second-team all-conference (media)

Sr. WR Andrew Peacock
Second-team all-conference (coaches and media)

Sr. LB Karl Anderson
Second-team all-conference (media)

RB Marcus Cox
P Bentlee Critcher
LB Kennan Gilchrist
DB Alex Gray
LB John Law

App. State Sports Information Dept.

Most Watched Videos