Duke's Jabari Parker Named To Tisdale Award Watch List

2:41 PM, Nov 4, 2013   |    comments
  • Share
  • Print
  • - A A A +

WrittenBy Duke Sport Information Dept.

DUHRAM, N.C. -- Duke freshman Jabari Parker was named to the 2014 Integris Wayman Tisdale Freshman of the Year Award Preseason Watch List as announced by the U.S. Basketball Writers Association Monday. Members of the association's board of directors chose the players to be included on the list as initial contenders for the national freshman of the year award.

Parker, a preseason All-America selection by several publications, has quickly established himself as a key contributor for the Blue Devils. In two exhibition contests, the Chicago native averaged 14.5 points, 3.5 rebounds, 3.0 assists, 2.0 blocks and 2.0 steals per game. He also shot 52.9 percent (9-of-17) from the field and 71.4 percent (10-of-14) from the foul line in exhibition play. Parker officially opens his collegiate career Friday, Nov. 8 at Cameron Indoor Stadium against Davidson (7 p.m. on ESPNU).

The Tisdale Award is to be presented to the national freshman of the year at the Devon Energy College Basketball Awards on April 14, 2014, at the National Cowboy and Western Heritage Museum in Oklahoma City. The Oscar Robertson Trophy and the Henry Iba Coach of the Year Award will also be presented at the gala to be held annually the Monday following the NCAA Men's Final Four.

Parker is joined on the list by; Kansas' Andrew Wiggins and Wayne Selden; Kentucky's Aaron Harrison, Andrew Harrison, Julius Randle and James Young; as well as Syracuse guard Tyler Ennis, Arizona forward Aaron Gordon and Florida guard Kasey Hill.

Pos. Player, School
G Tyler Ennis, Syracuse
F Aaron Gordon, Arizona
G Aaron Harrison, Kentucky
G Andrew Harrison, Kentucky
G Kasey Hill, Florida
F Jabari Parker, Duke
F Julius Randle, Kentucky
G Wayne Selden, Kansas
G Andrew Wiggins, Kansas
G James Young, Kentucky

By conference: SEC (5) ACC (2) Big 12 (2), Pac-12 (1)

The USBWA has chosen a national freshman of the year since the 1988-89 season when LSU's Chris Jackson was the recipient. Last season, Oklahoma State's Marcus Smart became the third winner of the Wayman Tisdale Award. Other notable previous winners of the national freshman of the year award include Anthony Davis, Kevin Durant, Carmelo Anthony, Jason Kidd and Chris Webber.

Duke Sports Information Dept.

Most Watched Videos