Duke's Sean Renfree Honored With ACC's Jim Tatum Award

3:39 PM, Nov 29, 2012   |    comments
  • Share
  • Print
  • - A A A +




GREENSBORO, N.C.-- Duke senior  quarterback Sean Renfree has been named the recipient of the 2012 Jim Tatum Award, ACC Commissioner John Swofford announced Thursday.

The Tatum Award is given annually in memory of the late Jim Tatum to the top senior student-athlete (in athletic eligibility) among the league's football players. Tatum, a two-time ACC Coach of the Year, coached in the fifties at both Maryland and North Carolina and believed strongly in the concept of the student-athlete.

The Award will be presented at the ACC's Night of Legends event which will be held Friday (6 pm) at the Charlotte Convention Center as part of the festivities held around the Dr  Pepper ACC Football Championship Game.

A three-year starter and two-year team captain, Renfree has led Duke to a 6-6 record this season and bowl eligibility for the first time since 1994. The Scottsdale, Ariz., native also has received recognition for his off-field accomplishments this season by being named a National Football Foundation Scholar-Athlete and the recipient of the Pop Warner National College Football Award.  In addition, he was named  to the AFCA's Good Works Team and is a finalist for the Senior CLASS Award.

Renfree graduated from Duke in December of 2011 with a degree in public policy with a 3.4 grade point average and is now working on a graduate degree in humanities with a 3.8 GPA. He was named to the All-ACC Academic Team in 2010 and 2011.

"What Sean Renfree has accomplished in his time at Duke University - athletically, academically and in our community - is simply incredible, " said  Duke head coach David Cutcliffe.  "He comes from an outstanding family that taught him the strongest of core values, and, as I've said before, there are not enough Sean Renfrees in our world today.  As a two-year team captain, his commitment to excellence has elevated our team and our program, and we could not be more proud of him in receiving the prestigious Jim Tatum Award."

One of the most accurate passers in the history of the ACC, Renfree ranks third in the league a with a .663 completion percentage (260 of 392) this season.  That mark is on pace to set a school record, potentially breaking his own standard of .650 set in 2011. He  holds or shares 14 school records and is tops on Duke's career completion percentage list as well, posting a mark of .643. He also ranks among Duke's all-time top five in pass completions (2nd; 861), passing touchdowns (5th; 50), passing efficiency (2nd; 127.98), passing yards (4th; 9,107) and 300-yard passing games (tied for 2nd; 10).

On the ACC's all-time charts, Renfree ranks fourth in pass completions, sixth in pass completion percentage, tied for seventh in 300-yard passing games and 9th in passing yardage.

He becomes the fourth Blue Devil to be honored with the Tatum Award joining Scott Hamilton (1979), Chris Douglas (2003) and Brendan Dewan (2005).

He was selected from a pool of outstanding nominees for the Tatum Award that included Boston College offensive tackle Emmett Cleary (Arlington Heights, Ill.), Clemson center Dalton Freeman, Florida State (Pelion, S.C.) placekicker Dustin Hopkins (Houston, Texas), Maryland defensive end A.J. Francis (Severn, Md.), Miami cornerback Brandon McGee (Plantation, Fla.), North Carolina offensive guard Jonathan Cooper (Wilmington, N.C.), NC State quarterback Mike Glennon (Centreville, Va.), Virginia Tech tight end George George (Salem, Va.) and Wake Forest linebacker Riley Haynes (Ponta Vedra Beach, Fla.).


                                                                      Previous Winners of the Jim Tatum Award

                                                                      1979            Scott Hamilton, Duke, G

                                                                      1980-81      No Award

                                                                      1982            Pat Chester, Virginia, S

                                                                                          Phil Denfield, Wake Forest, TE

                                                                      1983-84      Not Available

                                                                      1985            Kevin Anthony, North Carolina, QB

                                                                      1986            David Cardenas, Virginia, DB

                                                                      1987-89      Not Available

                                                                      1990            Charlie Cobb, NC State, C

                                                                      1991            Steve Ainsworth, Wake Forest, OL

                                                                      1992            Not Available

                                                                      1993            Thomas Burns, Virginia, LB

                                                                      1994            Ed Glenn, Clemson, TE

                                                                      1995            Russell Babb, North Carolina, OT

                                                                      1996            Daryl Bush, Florida State, DB

                                                                      1997            Stephen Phelan, Virginia, DB

                                                                                          Jonathan Claiborne, Maryland, S

                                                                      1998            Ebenezer Ekuban, North Carolina, DE

                                                                      1999            Noel LaMontagne, Virginia, G

                                                                      2000            Louis Marchetti, North Carolina, OT

                                                                      2001            Kyle Young, Clemson, C

                                                                      2002            Jeremy Muyres, Georgia Tech, DB

                                                                      2003            Chris Douglas, Duke, RB

                                                                      2004            Nick Novak, Maryland, PK

                                                                      2005            Brendan Dewan, Duke, LB

                                                                                          David Castillo, Florida State, C

                                                                      2006            Josh Wilson, Maryland, DB

                                                                      2007            Tom Santi, Virginia, TE

                                                                      2008            Darryl Richard, Georgia Tech, DT

                                                                      2009            Riley Skinner, Wake Forest, QB

                                                                      2010            Christian Ponder, Florida State, QB

                                                                      2011            Danny Coale, Virginia Tech, WR-P

                                                                      2012            Sean Renfree, Duke, QB










Duke/ WFMY News 2 Sports

Most Watched Videos