Duke's Plumlee, Sulaimon Named Finalists For USBWA National Awards

2:49 PM, Mar 4, 2013   |    comments
Duke's Mason Plumlee
  • Share
  • Print
  • - A A A +

Written By Duke Sports Information Dept.

DURHAM, N.C. -- Senior Mason Plumlee and freshman Rasheed Sulaimon were named finalists for U.S. Basketball Writers Association awards on Monday.

Plumlee is one of 14 outstanding players selected as finalists for its 2013 Oscar Robertson National Player of the Year Trophy presented by Aflac, while Sulaimon is among eight standout freshmen competing for the Integris Wayman Tisdale Award.

Members of the USBWA's board of directors chose the finalists and the entire 900-member USBWA will vote on the awards as well as the annual All-America and All-District teams.

Plumlee, an ACC Player of the Year candidate, ranks among the conference leaders in scoring (3rd, 17.1 ppg.), rebounding (2nd, 10.3 rpg.), field goal percentage (2nd, .591), double-doubles (t-1st, 16), double figure rebounding games (t-1st, 17), offensive rebounds (t-4th, 2.9 orpg.), defensive rebounds (1st, 7.5 drpg.), blocks (5th, 1.6 bpg.) and minutes played (4th, 34.7 mpg.). He has scored in double figures in 26 games with seven games with 20 or more points scored. Plumlee is one of 14 players in the NCAA averaging a double-double this season and is attempting to become the second player under Coach K to average a double-double in a season.

Sulaimon, one of the top freshmen guards in the country, averages 12.0 points, 3.3 rebounds and 2.1 assists per game. The Houston, Texas, native has made 44 three-point field goals (t-7th all-time among Duke freshmen) while shooting nearly 40.0 percent from behind the three-point arc. Sulaimon has scored in double figures 19 times including a season-best 27-point effort against Boston College on Feb. 24. He matched a Duke freshmen record with six three-point field goals in a 25-point outings at Cameron Indoor Stadium versus Maryland.

The recipients are to be announced on Friday, April 5 in Atlanta at a 9:15 a.m. ET press conference and then formally presented their awards at the Devon Energy College Basketball Awards on Mon., April 15 at the National Cowboy and Western Heritage Museum in Oklahoma City. The Henry Iba Coach of the Year Award will also be presented at the gala to be held annually the Monday following the NCAA Men's Final Four.

Anthony Bennett, UNLV
Trey Burke, Michigan
Michael Carter-Williams, Syracuse
Doug McDermott, Creighton
Ben McLemore, Kansas
Victor Oladipo, Indiana
Kelly Olynyk, Gonzaga
Mason Plumlee, Duke
Otto Porter, Georgetown
Marcus Smart, Oklahoma State
Russ Smith, Louisville
Deshaun Thomas, Ohio State
Jeff Withey, Kansas
Cody Zeller, Indiana

Anthony Bennett, UNLV
Jahii Carson, Arizona State
Gary Harris, Michigan State
Ben McLemore, Kansas
Shabazz Muhammad, UCLA
Nerlens Noel, Kentucky
Marcus Smart, Oklahoma State
Rasheed Sulaimon, Duke

Duke Sports Information Dept.

Most Watched Videos