Augusta, GA -- Tiger Woods was assessed a two-shot penalty on Saturday for an illegal drop that occurred during the second round of The Masters. After hitting his third shot on the 15th hole into the water, Tiger took a drop "as nearly as possible" to the spot of the initial shot. The Rules Committee deemed that he took an illegal drop and he was assessed a two-stroke penalty.
Here's how the golf world reacted on Twitter.
Kyle Thompson @KyleThompsonPGA
I guess Tiger is BIGGER than golf. Any other person in the world gets DQ'd. Gotta keep those TV ratings going right?
Graeme McDowell @Graeme_McDowell
Take the fact that it was Tiger out of the equation and it is a fair ruling. Since it is him the debate begins about TV ratings etc etc.
Stuart Appleby @StuartAppleby
I guess PGA made a new rule if a player not knowingly breaks a rule can get assessed penalty not DQ that it seems = Tiger.
Hunter Mahan @HunterMahan
Two shot penalty official. I like this ruling because he took an illegal drop but no official brought it to his attn.
I think he should WD. He took a drop to gain an advantage.
DQ believers aren't wrong. 2 shot penalty believers not wrong. Precedent is now set.
Whatever happens this isn't good for the Masters or the game. The ruling of DQ is harsh and USGA actually changed the TV replay rulings
In other news, everyone gets a mulligan off the first and 10th tees and one free throw from trouble on each nine.
I'm shocked but not surprised RT @vanhoose_02
: Thoughts on tigers ruling?
The last time I saw someone do what tiger did (meld two options and use line of flag and ball played) was in junior golf. Legitimately.